Attack of the Delicious Cookies, Remembering that We Are Responsible!

Forgetfulness..oy vey!

We are responsible.  We have got to accept responsibility for our lives and realize that we create our realities.  We shape our destinies.  Our thoughts largely determine the quality of our lives.  We all want to live the best life we can, right?  Yet, at the same time, we all probably do things that we know are not in our best interest.  We, in essence, allow ourselves to not practice the wisdom we know to be true, which suggests that some little part of it must by some degree doubt the validity of our wisdom.

In particular, for me, I struggle to practice wisdom regarding eating.  I’m firmly convicted in not eating meat, yet I still find myself occasionally consuming absurd amounts of sugary sweets.  Just last night I ate nearly a whole box of cookies.  Obviously, they were freakin’ delicious, but that is beside the point.  After I ate the cookies, I basically turned into a useless, heaping mass of amoeba, utterly incapable of any kind of functioning aside from sleep.  The two friends I’m currently staying with were both awake, yet I did not really enjoy the moment with them, partially because I had about eight huge heath bar cookies sitting in my stomach undergoing the process of digestion.  All the food in my stomach zapped the blood that would otherwise go to my brain and instead sent it to my belly.  The cookies, as much as I allowed them to, rendered me dysfunctional.

I passed out around 1 AM, and thankfully woke up pretty early.  I guess some part of me wanted to counteract the extravagant waste of last night.  I temporarily destroyed my body and so destroyed the good times with my friends.  I allowed the food to control me and take over my body and mind, yet that didn’t have to be the case. I’ve experienced overeating enough times to know that it crushes the quality of the moment and deters me from being my best self.

It is safe to say that we all want to live the best lives we know how.  At the same time, we occasionally engage in destructive behavior, contradicting whatever “wisdom” we might possess that would suggest another way to achieve our optimum state of being.  I certainly did it last night, and yet, at the same time I am grateful for the experience because it now allows me to share it with you, the very beautiful reader!

And yes, you are beautiful, no doubt about it.  Beautiful enough to be happy right now, and beautiful enough to not eat a whole box of cookies.  Of course, if you want to eat the cookies – go ahead.  We all learn our lesson at some point.

Only through experience can we ever truly know anything, which is why I find it vitally important that we have the courage to venture beyond our comfort zone and confront our fears with action.  Many of our fears are irrational, and so long as we do not act to disprove ourselves of the ridiculousness of our fears, they will master us.

Two Ways to Prevent Cookie Disasters:

  1. It is hard to say what fear conquered me last night when I succumbed to the epic cookie consumption.  One thing I know for sure is this – if I resisted the cookies in the first place, so that I never brought them to the apartment, then the unhealthy adventure would have been diverted altogether.  Preventative measures work wonders.  If I had demonstrated the wisdom to not acquire the cookies in the first place, then the cookies would never have been there to devour.  This reminds me of some wisdom I learned once about grocery shopping.  Always make a list before you go shopping, and then make an agreement that you will not buy anything not on the list.  We are all wise enough and completely capable to make decisions ahead of time and stick to our plans, and when we practice willpower like this our capacity to live in wisdom will grow and grow.

 

  1. One other method I’ve found very effective to prevent me from making impulse purchases is to speak aloud to myself or others about whatever I’m about to buy, particularly food.  For example, I sometimes get a hankering for donuts, so now whenever I drive past Krispy Kremes I simply joke with myself, “Ohh my goodness Krispy Kreme sounds so good!  Oh boy! Those donuts are delicious and taste so good.  But wait!  Oh yea, now I remember.  Whenever I eat donuts I feel terrible and my body hates them too.  They cloud my thinking and lead me to perform at lower levels than I am capable.  In no way do those Krispy Kreme delicious donuts help me achieve my potential.  Sorry Krispy Kreme!  As much as you taste oh-so-good, you’re much more bad for me than good, so I’m going to have to pass.  Thanks for being there, though.”  Sometimes my speech to Krispy Kreme isn’t quite so long, but you get the picture.

Practicing wisdom can be difficult.  We all like to rationalize our way out of doing what we actually think is best.  Of course, when you break the word rationalize down to its basic parts, you come away with “rational lies.” We are simply fooling ourselves when we “rationalize.” We make excuses, think that no one will ever know, and that one little donut really won’t be that bad for us. Of course, one donut might not be so bad.  But, in the end, we’ve always got to own up to our decisions.  As Dumbledore once shed some wisdom on me, “It is not our abilities that show what we truly are.  It is our choices.”

We are responsible.  So much as we disrespect ourselves, we lower the quality of our lives, and that lower quality of energy is projected out onto the world, so we harm others as well.  Not only are we responsible for ourselves, but we are responsible for everyone.  Our actions and experience of life intertwine as we knit our sweater of life together. We are all perpetual students and teachers, learning from our environment continuously as well as setting the example for others to learn from.  If we take the time to think about the decisions we are making, and maybe even more than think but also speak aloud about our purpose and reasoning behind doing any one action, we will all raise our consciousness and find ourselves living much better lives than before.  Take the time to think!  Live in the wisdom that you know is good. J

And, obviously – I love you.  Whoever you are, you are phenomenal, and capable of tremendous acts.  Put yourself to the test and experience your own greatness!

Leave a Reply

