Do You ever get Bored? Go for the Win/Win Habits!

Do you ever get bored?  Isn’t that kind of a scary feeling?  Suddenly your favorite TV show finishes or you come to the end of your Pop Culture Magazine and you are left wondering, “What do I do now?”  Some existential thoughts might even enter your head for a moment.  You start to think, “Why am I here?”  or “What am I doing with my life?”  You ask yourself some big questions that you’re not quite ready to answer, not until you watch one more episode of Dawnson’s Creek followed up by E! True Hollywood Story so you can learn once again how celebrities aren’t really that happy and how fame often destroys more than it creates.

What do you do when you get bored?

For the past 3 months I’ve been relatively self-employed, meaning I make all the decisions regarding what I do, when I do it, how I do it, and, most importantly, I’m clear on my answer to the big “Why?” question.  Because I’m clear on “Why?” I can always ask myself, “What can I do right now to help me fulfill my major definite purpose?”  Whenever boredom strikes, boom!  I’m there with a question, an answer, and action.

Thankfully, establishing a few good habits that move the world towards Peace allows me to lean on these habits as a strong foundation for a peacemaking life.  My answer to how I can fulfill my major definite purpose is often practicing one of my established habits.  Some of these habits include walking, yoga, and juggling, all of which I consider forms of meditation.  Meditation, I believe, is always beneficial in moving the world towards Peace.  This claim is grounded in neuroscience as well as the practical sustainability of the practice for anyone who wishes to join in on the fun.  Anyone can do it, any time.  No equipment necessary.

The other beautiful quality of grounding a life in good habits is that it significantly reduces the “need” one might have to plan for the future.  If you can decide on an activity you believe is not only very good for you but also gives to the greater good, then you are completely free and even encouraged to do that activity as much as you please.  You don’t have to plan when you do it – you just do it. You help yourself and you help others. Isn’t that wonderful?  Think Win/Win!

When you find such a Win/Win activity, you can lean on that whenever you want to escape from the clutches of boredom. Allow this Win/Win activity of yours to become a habit, because you know it’s that good. No one will deny you the right to win for yourself and win for the greater good.  Even something like moderate exercise I believe is a Win/Win, because when we take care of our physical bodies then we enable ourselves to perform with greater energy and give more to others.  Similarly, when we read with the intention of sharing the knowledge with others as well as applying the wisdom to our own lives, that is another Win/Win activity.

By bettering ourselves, we better others.  By bettering others, we better ourselves.  The world is our mirror.

Establishing Win/Win habits that align with your purpose in life can be tough, especially when you might not even be so sure about your purpose at this point.  Good news is that you are completely free to consider the question each and every day, because pondering your purpose in life is most definitely Win/Win.

Until you get down to specifics on your purpose, though, the great man Matthew Kelly devised a completely logical purpose for all people to pursue, no matter your color, creed, or calling card.  Essentially, he says that our purpose in life is to become the best-version-of-ourselves.  Be your best!  It’s as simple as that.  As I mentioned in yesterday’s post, he breaks his life down into four categories: physical, emotional, intellectual, and spiritual. You can develop Win/Win habits to aid your growth in each of the categories.

By choosing to become our best selves, we empower ourselves to learn, grow, and give more and more, each and every day.  Taking the time to develop the Win/Win habits to move us along the path of becoming our best selves is totally worth it.  After all, who wouldn’t want to be their very best?

Boredom???  Yeaaahh right!  Go do something that makes you better and moves you along the path of giving more to others than you ever have before.  Of course – don’t forget to smile 🙂

Leave a Reply

