A Problem with Science…

Science is incomplete, non-conclusive, and pretty much everything science purports to ‘have discovered’ is really ‘to be determined.’  Most, if not all, of what science claims rests upon clouds.  For us to look to science as our source of making decisions about our lives is disempowering our own personal experience as the best testimony to the effectiveness of any life decision.

Rather than relying on science to tell us what is good and bad for our bodies or looking to logic to explain to us “the good life,” we would all benefit if we tapped into the courage and power within ourselves to experiment with different ways of living to discover the best way to live.  Often times, we hold ourselves back from making changes in our life because we haven’t found sufficient ‘reasons’ or ‘evidence,’ and that lack of ‘evidence’ can actually trap us into living a life of quiet desperation until the end of our days.  Instead of waiting on infallible ‘evidence,’ we’ll be much better off if we accept the incompleteness of science and take it upon ourselves to be the real-life evidence for the goodness or badness of any particular life decision.

An old proverb goes, “Experience is the Mother of all Wisdom.”  Life, not science, is our greatest teacher.  When we learn from life and our personal experience, we are empowered and tapping into our great potential much more fully than if we wait for science to tell us what to do.

It could be centuries, or possibly never, thanks to lobbyists – but let’s be optimistic!, before science ‘proves’ the superiority of a vegan diet, or before it once and for all proves short-term and long-term dangers of cigarettes, microwaves, cell phones, or tanning beds, but that doesn’t mean we have to keep on using them as though we are incapable of determining anything for ourselves.

I heard a song on the radio the other day that started with the words, “Why should we trust the government,” and I had a nice chuckle with my friend over it.  The same question applies to science.  Why should we trust science?  Not saying we have to distrust all of science and renounce technology completely, but I think it makes sense if we approach scientific creations and reasoning with a skepticism that deters us from embracing whatever new technology is out there without considering its effects on our bodies and the environment.

For example, I personally am not a fan of processed foods or animal products, talking on a cell phone next to my ear, using soap, deodorant, or toothpaste, having a laptop on my lap, and using/being around microwaves.  I choose to abide by these behavioral changes because I think they’re in my own best interest as far as my personal health goes.  Even if they do not necessarily make me ‘healthier,’ I highly doubt that choosing the opposite of any of those lifestyle choices, .e.g. using microwaves, would add enough positive benefits to my life to accrue for the potential dangers.  For these choices, science is still inconclusive, but from my personal experience and reasoning, I find them in my own best interest.  Call me a pseudo-scientist if you’d like.

A more drastic behavioral change I’ve been experimenting with is living without money.  Cultural norms and reasoning might suggest that money is a necessary part of life, but so far I’ve found it to be anything but necessary, and not having money has actually afforded me a lot more freedom to do what I love.  I’ve played Peace and Love and Service to the Highest Good as priorities in my life, and with these as my guiding lights, living without money has been a joy.  After all, material possessions don’t provide any lasting satisfaction.  And, of course, the best things in life are free!

By taking on the responsibility of being scientists in this experiment called Life, we can discover, through experience, many more personal truths than ‘modern science’ would otherwise allow us to know.  If you are not sure about the merits of a particular lifestyle choice, such as becoming a vegetarian or vegan, you don’t have to read 99 books before you decide whether or not it’s the right decision for you.  Instead, draw upon the power within you to try it out for a week, two weeks, preferably 30 days, see how you feel, and then decide whether or not it’s right for you.  Or, regarding a choice like microwaves or cell phones, I consider how much I really know about how the technology works, what benefits it gives me, and then at what potential cost.  For me, talking with a cell phone next to my ear rather than on speaker phone provides minimum extra benefits but could possibly save me from something like brain cancer, so I’m all for it.

I believe our own personal experience and reasoning, not science, has the answers we are looking for.  Science is incomplete, but you are infinite!  Explore and experiment in the world for yourself, awaken to your own ability to discover personal truths, and enjoy the freedom to make decisions for yourself 🙂

Leave a Reply

