Jehovah’s Witnesses: Bible Synchronicities and Reppin’ the Faith! Hallelujah :-)

So amazing how God works in mysterious ways.  And then when we connect the dots in our heads…or perhaps open to our inability to connect the dots but also knowing that there is Reason and Order behind it all (i.e. Chaos Theory!!!)…then it just feels so good to express gratitude and spend a bit of time in awe and reverence for the wonders of Creation and the Creator.

Yesterday I organized the books in my room into a couple different stacks.  The most important distinction I made among any of the books was the selection of 3 books I pulled aside to look at every morning and night.  One is Cosmic Consciousness by Richard M. Bucke, another The Prophet by Kahlil Gibran, and the third, The Bible, written by a whole bunch of wonderful people.  I’ve been reading Cosmic Consciousness and The Prophet every day for a while now, particularly St. Paul’s message on Love as well as Gibran’s own thoughts on Love.  I look over these passages in hopes that my days may be more filled with loving thoughts and actions.

Just last night, after organizing the books, I decided it was time to reconnect with the Bible.  After all, it’s been almost exactly a year since I first read Gandhi: How One Man Changed Himself to Change the World, and only then did I begin to look at the Bible.  After learning of Gandhi’s fondness of the Sermon on the Mount, I began reading it every morning, and the truth of those words catalyzed my exploration into homelessness and a life without money.  Needless to say, the sermon empowered me to live a purer life and align with higher principles rather than succumb to cultural traps.  So why not commune once again with the inspirational sermon???

So, here I am now, just after having picked up the Bible again for the first time in months, and already some other Bible enthusiasts have come into my life.  Very cool how God operates!

Not to say the Jehovah’s Witnesses and I were totally aligned with each other and our views of the Bible, but it was still great to talk with them this morning.  Their message surprised me quite a bit.  One of the very first questions they asked: “Do you believe there is one name for God?” to which I replied that I think we can all refer to God in any way that resonates with us as individuals – it’s all the same God anyway, right?

These two women witnesses followed their faith to come knocking door to door, and here the first thing they want to promote is the idea that we should all call by God by the same name, Jehovah.  To me, that seemed a bit ridiculous as the primary idea that they want to share. It’s like…you muster up all that courage just to be nit-picky over some pedantic detail?  Nevertheless, I still do very much admire their courage.  Going door to door and sharing the faith is a tremendous demonstration of trust in God and in the Goodness of people, so even if I don’t completely agree with the idea of us all calling God by the same name, it is still totally awesome that these two women rose to the teachings of their faith and courageously reached out to share their faith with strangers.  Although, they might see all strangers as Children of God, so that’s not really scary after all 🙂

What did I learn from these Jehovah’s Witnesses?

Enough fluffing, allow me to be clear on what I loved most about the surprise of the friendly Bible enthusiasts this morning.

1.  We don’t have to be afraid of other people.  Especially when doing what we believe is the work of God, we can find so much strength and abundant support and security in the pursuit that we have nothing to fear!  If you really believe in your faith, would you have any problem dying on a door-to-door adventure of sharing the faith?  Of course not!  So long as we are aligned with the Good and Higher Principles, we’ll discover all the courage, power, and support we could ever need.

2.  If I was to ever go door to door, I’d probably pick a different talking point than the specific you name you call God, or perhaps I’d even affirm the opposite, that is that you can call God by any name that resonates with you.  Tough to say though…and really I have yet to muster up the courage or the cojones to do such an activity so who am I to say.

3.  It’s about time to let go of the stereotype of Jehovah’s Witnesses stealing silverware.  Almost positive that is completely false.  At least with these two Children of God, no attempt was made 🙂

2 thoughts on “Jehovah’s Witnesses: Bible Synchronicities and Reppin’ the Faith! Hallelujah :-)

  1. Good read appreciated your insights!
    Their Watchtower society message,in 180 languages, is the same: God is soon going to execute every living person on the planet, except Jehovah’s Witnesses. They also actively encourage people to reject life-saving medical treatment involving some common blood products such as plasma and red cells.
    The origin of all Watchtower teachings that makes them unique over all other religions is their creed of Jesus second coming ‘invisibly’ in the year 1914.

    For background critical information on Jehovah’s Witnesses beliefs and practices browse my blog.
    Danny Haszard FMI dannyhaszard(dot)com

Leave a Reply

