Driven by Vision

A man is walking along a construction project and he sees four men working.

He asks the first man, ‘What are you doing?”

The man says, “I’m laying bricks.”

He asks the second man, “What are you doing?”

The man says, “I’m building a wall.”

He asks the third man, “What are you doing?

The man says, “I’m building a church.”

He asks the fourth man, “What are you doing?”

The man stops his work, looks up with a shine in his eye and a smile on his face.  With a voice filled with dignity and enthusiasm, he replies, “I’m building a monument to glorify God!”

Each man, objectively, was performing the same task.  However, subjectively, each man possessed a different understanding of the scope of the work they were doing.

As you might imagine, the fourth man, the man who possessed a  keen understanding of the  real meaning and purpose behind the physical labor of laying bricks to build a church to glorify God – he found great joy in his work and hardly even considered it work at all.

“When you love what you’re doing, you’ll never have to work a day in his life.”

The fourth man tuned into the higher purpose and reason for his actions.  He had a clear vision of the future and understood how his actions aligned with his core principles and beliefs.  This man was not motivated by fame or fortune, but he was motivated by God.

I, for one, would love to be filled with the same enthusiasm of the fourth man, to know so fully that my every moment is serving God and the Greater Good.  Sometimes, I feel this is true, and other times I forget.  I lose sight of the vision.

The more clearly I hold the vision before me, the more motivated I am by it, the more energy and spiritual fire I find stirring within me.

Work is much easier to do when we have a sense of how it is contributing to the fulfillment of our grand vision.

“How do you get to Mt. Olympus? Just make sure every step is in that direction.”

The key is desire.  If you desire an outcome then you will be motivated to achieve it.  Likewise, if you can dream up a grand vision and feel what it’s like to live in that reality where your vision is realized, then that will provide you with all the desire you need to move forth confidently in its direction.

The more you align with your vision each moment, the more power and peace you find within yourself.  There are few greater feelings I’ve experienced than an assurance that I am doing good and progressively realizing my worthy ideal.

As Henry David Thoreau once said, “Go confidently in the direction of your dreams.  Live the life you have imagined.”

2 thoughts on “Driven by Vision

  1. Hi everyone, it’s my first go to see at this web page, and piece of writing is in fact fruitful in favor of me, keep up posting these types of articles or reviews.

Leave a Reply

