How would you live if this was your last day?

Flipping through my daily planner, I just turned to a few circled words I found that say, “Live each day like it’s your last.”  That got me thinking, how would I live today if I knew it was my last day to live?  Well…invariably…it leads me here.  So if today is my last day alive, I’m doing this, and even if it’s not…I’m doing this.  And, I feel pretty good about this decision.  After all, in David Hawkins book Power vs. Force, he mentions that many avatars of history identify themselves far beyond the body and understand their greatest role as one of communicating…so here I am communicating!  Not saying I’m an avatar or anything like that – but hey – why not fake it until you make it? 😉

Okay…so last day alive…what matters most?  Perhaps living with an awareness of the reality that the physical body does die.  We will not have these things forever!  Meanwhile, it seems like if we take good care of these bodies, feeding them not just healthy food, but also healthy thoughts, healthy people, and healthy environments, then we can live in them for longer.  And I do find this embodied experience to be quite the gift, so why not take good care of the body, even optimal care?  However, to counter, I’ve heard it been said that the day and time of our death is already determined at our birth, so there’s nothing we can really do to change that.  Nonetheless, feeding the body healthy food, thoughts, people, and environments ensures that the quality of your experience improves, even if the quantity of time you’re embodied remains unchanged.  So by all means, feed yourself, wholly yourself – body, mind, heart, spirit – with the very best food, both physical and spiritual food, that is out there!  And if you don’t know what the best food is, educate yourself!  And if you don’t want to educate yourself via books and people and external resources, allow your personal experience to educate you and become an explorer.  Embrace your own personal experience as the most advanced scientific experiments around.  It’s been said, “Experience is the mother of all wisdom,” so go ahead and create new experiences for yourself and allow yourself to cultivate some good ole fashioned wisdom from first-hand experience.

For 30 days, challenge yourself.  Lay down the gauntlet!  If you want to feel better, see what happens for 30 days if you look in the mirror every morning and say, “I like myself,” or better yet, “I love myself!” or “I am responsible.”  Although Eckhart Tolle suggests living from a space beyond relationship with yourself, affirming the best in yourself might be a good place to start nonetheless.  If you find yourself mentally healthy and oozing with self-esteem and self-respect, perhaps try writing down your #1 goal each morning for 30 days.  That will help you become more effective, productive, and focused on what matters most for you.  Or, if you find yourself focused too, perhaps you might enjoy greater physical health.  In that case, why not try a paleolithic, vegetarian, vegan, or raw food diet for 30 days?  Or, a less extreme version, heed the age old wisdom, “An apple a day keeps the doctor away,” and eat an apple a day for 30 days in a row!  See how you feel.  What if physical health was really that simply?  You can never really know unless you try it and experience it yourself.

Okay…so this is still my last day to live…what do I want to communicate?

Sharing what has worked for me personally and led to greater health, self-discipline, and effectiveness the past month…plan your day!  Not your whole day, but just 6 things.  Before you go to sleep, ask for some guidance from your Higher Self, God, the Universe, whoever – even just you – ask for the 6 most important things to do the next day.  Write them down clearly so you understand completely what needs to be done, and then, – here comes the really crazy part – when you wake up, go do them 🙂  Oddly enough, this activity was not on my last of 6 most important things to do today, yet I feel like it’s pretty good to do.  It’s only 11:28 AM and I’ve completely. 4 of the 6, so I think I can afford this.  After all…this could be my last day alive…it could even be yours…so what matters most to you?

When we become aware that we might die very soon, even today, it’s wonderful what happens to our relationships.  I find myself loving people more and more, and letting go of any sense of superiority or condemning/judging and just accepting everyone as they are, knowing that we’re all pretty much doing the best we can given what we know.  If the situation presents itself, I may share a story or some knowledge to perhaps inspire someone to a more loving, conscious, compassionate way of living, but it’s not really a priority.  The priority is loving the present moment, no matter what; remember, as best I can, that the most important relationship in my life is the one I have with this present moment.  After all, the present moment is all there ever is and will be.  The only time is NOW!  And, if you are to ever know God, it can only happen now.  As a friend wrote in a meditation he shared with me, “God is either in this moment (the NOW!) / or God isn’t.”

Just as God is and can only be NOW, so too is true with all of the very best things in life.  I’m a firm believe that the best things in life are free.  The greatest treasures were freely bestowed upon us at birth and are with us at all times, if we only become aware of them.  Deep Peace, Unconditional Love, Abundant Joy – all of this exists in consciousness itself, not in the physical world.  So if you want it, it’s yours.  Just turn your attention to the Peace and Love and Joy that is within…the Kingdom Within!…and soon enough you will experience it.  What you give your attention to grows.  What do you want to grow in your life?

The human experience is profound.  And as we continue to wake up to higher levels of consciousness, we’ll slowly begin to experience more and more of the abundance of miracles that flow all around us, all the time.  Less and less will occur by chance, and we’ll begin to tune into the Higher Reason that underlies everything that happens.  Also, waking up, you realize that everything that happens to you offers you an incredible message for your healing, growth, and evolution.  It all serves you!  Every bit of it.  Even a jammed toe, cold soup, an empty stapler – it all serves you!  It is all offering you a message.  Open to receive it, begin a journey of conscious learning and growth each and every moment, and watch how quickly your life expands to wonderful dimensions of connection and harmony.

Perhaps best of all, even if everything I’ve said before makes no sense, I think Thich Nhat Hanh might have said it best when he offered this meditation to this world: “Breathing in, I know I am in the Present Moment.  Breathing out, I know it is a Wonderful Moment.”  Life is really that simple.  Practicing that meditation, or accepting and fully realizing the truth of his meditation, will bring you to consciousness of the wonderful, Wonderful-Consciousness, which you might liken to Miracle-Consciousness or God-Consciousness.  There are wonders, miracles, and God-incidences happening all around you, all the time.  But how do we tune into this level of awareness?  Thich Nhat Hanh to the rescue again.  He says, simply, “Breathe, smile, and go slowly.”  Slow down, tune up, and enjoy. 🙂

Last day to live…I think that’s a good resting place for now.   Not only are the best things in life free, but the greatest truths are also simple. Thich Nhat Hanh’s knows whats up.  Now, on this last day to live, I’ll return to my to-do list, honoring my personal truth, because as Jesus said, “You shall know the Truth and the Truth shall set you free.”  So, I feel quite free honoring the personal truth of this abundant to-do list.  Thanks for reading…thanks for not reading…thanks for being Here, Now, and Everywhere 🙂

Favorite word?  Hallelujah!

 

 

 

One thought on “How would you live if this was your last day?

Leave a Reply

